This Has Perhaps Gone Too Far…

I really, really like One Direction. It’s embarrassing, but I can’t help it. On the weekend, Julia and I watched some One Direction music videos with our roommate Dominique, who is probably about 80% to blame for my unfortunate addiction to this boy band (it’s okay because I’m 100% to blame for her Candy Crush addiction). We watched them after also watching Miley Cyrus’s “We Can’t Stop” and “Wrecking Ball” as well as Christina Aguilera’s “Dirty”. It’s an odd selection of music, I’ll admit. They’re also very, very different. “Dirty” occurred during X-Tina’s perhaps most intense face. Her hair is slightly cornrowed, which is never really a good look for a white person, and she’s wearing bum-less chaps, which is also not a spectacularly good look for most people (she’s not not pulling it off, though). And I’m sure you’ve all seen the Miley Cyrus videos at this point, so I’m not even going to touch on either of them, except to say giant teddy bear backpacks, an interesting style choice.

And then there’s One Direction. Well, here’s One Direction, actually.

So innocent by comparison, but we all know they’re not really. They can’t be, they’re twenty-year-old boys. And I’ve also seen the interviews to prove this, which is also unfortunate and embarrassing. Actually, I would like to point out here, for the sake of my credibility, that I’ve actually only seen two One Direction interviews, and one of them was only because they were on Alan Carr’s Chatty Man talk show. There’s never a reason not to watch Chatty Man.

In any case, the other interview I watched entirely because I wanted to (sad), the boys had been divided into two groups. In the first group, there was Zayn (a.k.a. the moody, depressing one), Liam, and Louis. They were a little out of hand, but not too much because, as I said, Zayn does nothing but brood, and Liam seems like he might be the most mature of the entire group. And then there was Harry and Niall.

The interviewer really struggled with them. I don’t think either of them answered  large majority of the questions she asked and they ended up having kind of a side conversation of their own about chest hair. I felt a little bad for the poor woman, but it was also rather hilarious, largely because of how badly she struggled. Very entertaining.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 212 other followers

