A guide to gourmet breakfast: lactose is always essential

I should preface this post by saying that I became lactose intolerant in my adult life. It was quite sad really – before I turned 20 I could eat anything and everything. Now yogurt is an uncomfortable experience. Don’t get be wrong, I take the Lacteeze pills and everything is (mostly) ok,  but I think that being intolerant has really only served to increase my love for cheese. Gosh I love cheese.

Recently my beautiful friend Becca went out to brunch at Milestones and had pear and mascarpone pancakes, which made me insanely jealous. I tend to think that Milestones is a bit expensive and overrated, but darn that breakfast sounded good! So I ripped them off and made my own. I only felt mildly ill.

You will need:

1 pear
1 orange
1 handful raspberries and blackberries
Mascarpone cheese
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup sugar
Maple syrup

I started my epic breakfast with French toast, because pancakes make me feel especially ill. I’m so sad I know. If you don’t know how to make French toast, there’s just no helping you. It’s ridiculously easy and googleable. Gosh I’m not going to do everything for you! Once you have your pancakes, French toast, waffles, crepes, all of the above, you need epic toppings. This is what makes the breakfast gourmet you see (though mimosas wouldn’t hurt). I used fresh pear and orange slices, with raspberries and blackberries. The pièce de résistance? Lactose of course. Whip mascarpone cheese with a teaspoon of vanilla, a quarter cup of sugar, and some milk (or whipping cream if your stomach can handle it. Mine can’t. I used lactose-free 2%). Drizzle everything with maple sugar, and le voila. Gourmet breakfast.

Let’s eat!

~ Julia

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “A guide to gourmet breakfast: lactose is always essential

  1. Jilly says:

    A regular Nigella.

Leave a Reply

