How Shameful

I am ashamed, as the title of this post would suggest, to admit that I have a new found love for One Direction. Maybe you don’t know who One Direction is, and that’s probably because you’re not a fourth grade girl. Essentially, One Direction is a boy band. That’s right, I said it. They were discovered on X-Factor as individual singers and were then made into one group (thanks, Wikipedia). I’m really banking on the fact that I will look less pathetic for liking them because they are British and, as we all know, British things are better than North American things. Except for The Office. Sorry, Ricky Gervais.

Anyway, I really like them. How sad is that? Pretty sad, I think, seeing as I am technically an adult woman. Oh well. It could be worse, I think. I could like the Jonas Brothers. Not only are they not cool and British like One Direction, but Joe also has ridiculous eyebrows (seriously, does he not own a mirror?) and they are no longer culturally relevant. I have actually dated myself just by mentioning them. But I’m about to date myself a heck of a lot more (listen to me, I sound like a fifty-year-old).

I think my love of One Direction stems mostly (or so I hope) from a sense of nostalgia. Remember the 1990s (or don’t. You do what you feel comfortable with)? If you do, you probably remember The Backstreet Boys and/or *Nsync. If you don’t, you either didn’t live through the ’90s or you did, but underneath a rock. As an aside, can we all take a moment to reflect on the name *Nsync? What is with the asterisk? In any case, I have noticed that there are some distinct dissimilarities between One Direction and the aforementioned boy bands of the ’90s. For instance, they don’t have awful choreographed dance routines like *Nsync. And there isn’t a pudgy, ugly, drug-addled member in One Direction, whereas, in The Backstreet Boys, that was A.J. And later Nick Carter. Time has not been kind to the Carter family.

They also dress outrageously well in comparison. Take a look at the pictures below.

Look at those scarves. Julia would be so proud.

Those are all really ugly leather jackets. And, please, take a moment to reflect on how high Lance's (leather) pants are. Terrible.

Anyway, here is a video that I strongly urge you to watch. If you don’t, I completely understand. We don’t all have to be ashamed.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “How Shameful

  1. Emil says:

    Jonas Brothers USED to be relevant…

  2. Emil says:

    And omg, I can’t believe you like these boys. I feel redeemed from my *former* love of JBros.

  3. […] remember when I said that I (shamefully) liked One Direction? Well, the shame continues. Julia and I have both discovered a newfound love for another British […]

  4. […] know that I have said that I like One Direction and that they’re a wonderful boy band and I stick by this declaration. They really are quite […]

  5. […] time it’s not One Direction. Oh no it’s worse. This time I find myself becoming addicted to Cougar Town. I know […]

Leave a Reply

