Things that irritate me: Cupcake edition

I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking that I have no soul because I allow myself to be irritated by a cupcake. Either that or you think I’m trivial, ridiculous and immature. Well you would be only partially correct! But hear me out.

Is it just me, or is there a SERIOUS cupcake fad going on right now? I know, I know. You could live under a rock in Uzbekistan and still realize this major foodie trend; I realize I have not made a unique discovery. However, while cupcake bakeries cropping up on every street corner in Toronto (and even one downtown Guelph – we’re a little behind the times here, but the presence of just one is, believe me, a big deal, and a strong indicator of the prevalence of this trend) should be truly glorious, I have found it is not. Just because cupcakes are, like, super cute right now, doesn’t mean that everybody should hop on that band wagon. Just like not everybody should hop on the leggings as pants bandwagon. Oh wait, NOBODY should.

I should clarify that I have nothing against a good cupcake. Katie at dance made ballerina cupcakes when Ali moved to Dubai to be fabulous and not only were they spectacularly pretty, but extremely delicious. The only issue is that with so many trendy and adorable looking bakeries how do you separate out the good ones from the bad? It’s like choosing a book by the cover: questionable results, yet we all do it (those of us that read that is. Yes, I do. All the time, I have Buddy Holly glasses. Obvs.) At the majority of these bakeries you end up with a $4 cupcake that tastes like a sponge with bland butter cream frosting that hurts your lactose intolerant stomach. Just because cupcakes are terribly cute doesn’t mean that we all have to go into business making them. In fact, I implore you all not too. (Unless you’re Katie from dance, or Jenn from work. Jenn those peanut butter cupcakes make me salivate just thinking about them.)

Anybody else craving … cake?

~ Julia

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Things that irritate me: Cupcake edition

  1. Emil says:

    I agree. Nice looking cupcakes from shops taste worse (I know, I can’t believe I said it) than out of the box/homemade cupcakes with a standard topping.

  2. Shirin says:

    Wellington Cakes has awesome cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

