The Radio Sucks

I don’t know if you’ve noticed this. Maybe you enjoy listening to the same Katy Perry song on every single channel over and over again. I do not. Ever. Because of this, I can’t stand the radio. It’s actually a painful experience for me. Don’t get me wrong, there are some songs that I actually enjoy. Sadly, “What Makes You Beautiful” by One Direction is one of those songs. Another one, possibly equally as sadly, is Kelly Clarkson’s “Stronger”. And, I mean, I used to love Adele, and I’m sure with time, I will like her once more, but Lord above, please stop playing “Set Fire to the Rain”. You have already ruined “Rolling in the Deep” for me, is that not enough?!

Unfortunately for me, mainstream radio stations never seem to play the kind of music that I want to listen to. Also unfortunately for me, I drive a Mercury Sable from 1997 (remember?). It doesn’t have a CD player or a functioning tape deck thanks to the idiots who broke into our car in the middle of the night and ripped a tape out. That was great, I really appreciate it. Since then, Julia and I have bought two FM transmitters to save ourselves from the horrible music. One of them broke and the other was unbelievably fuzzy, which drove Julia crazy. So here we are, stuck with the radio.

All of my hope lies on 102.1 The Edge. And by that, I mean Fearless Fred, who is the only DJ on the radio that doesn’t make me want to cry or rip my ears off. When he is on the air, those are the only minutes of brief sanity. Yes, Fearless Fred, I will enjoy that new song by The Black Keys.

I should mention that Julia and I once accidentally discovered a radio station that will randomly play great Canadian music, like The Sheepdogs or Hollerado. They also play opera music and what I can only assume is Spanish music. It’s a bit of a grab-bag, and yet, I’d take Pavarotti over LMFAO any day.

~ Hilary

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

