More Shame.

So, remember when I said that I (shamefully) liked One Direction? Well, the shame continues. Julia and I have both discovered a newfound love for another British boy band, The Wanted. Yes, yes, we know. But I would now like to defend ourselves.

Here is The Wanted, looking trendy and moody. Everything a woman loves.

For starters, we are well aware of how sad this really is. That’s got to count for something, right? I mean, in one of their songs, they actually say, “Butterflies, butterflies”. That’s lame, unless you’re a ten-year-old girl. But, regardless, we still like them. I think this is because I kind of missed the whole boy band obsession in the ’90s. Julia did not, but this is just an extension of her love for boy bands.

On another note, I’ve come to the realization that they kind of look like One Direction, only slightly older versions. They’re like the raunchier version because it’s not illegal for them to actually have fun when they party. You know what I mean. I get it, One Direction, tour buses seem like a lot of fun, but not that much fun. Yachts and vodka? Real fun. One of them actually looks like a skinnier Daniel Radcliffe with wide-set eyes. You decide if that’s a good thing. I’m not sure. But you know what? They’re not as good as One Direction, this I will say for sure. They have a song called “Heart Vacancy”. Seriously. But their songs are still super catchy and fun.

This one, for example:

I’m pretty sure there’s only one of them who doesn’t have forty pounds of hair products in their hair at any given time, and that’s only because he’s bald. This video is ridiculous, by the way. Did I miss something? What is happening with the fake clown noses?

~ Hilary

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “More Shame.

  1. kristenlyndsey says:

    I shamefully enjoy The Wanted as well. I think the clown noses might have something to do with Comic Relief.

  2. Gertie Riemer says:

    Hi Hilary,
    Hope you don’t mind Annika passed this on to me….so you’ve got a mother reading your very funny blog!
    Actually, the first time I heard the name of this band, I thought they were called, “One Day Erection”. Seriously. (where is my mind at?)
    They are a British band, yes? When I lived in the UK many years ago, there was a national Red Nose Day that was a fundraiser for something…..everyone wore a plastic red nose. Even the cars had big red balls on their front grills.
    That’s enough from me. If your parents read this, they might not let you play with my kids.

    Gertie

Leave a Reply

