Higher Than Any Other

Okay, so I’ve already talked about Jennifer Lopez’s song/music video, and now I’m going to talk about Starships by Nicki Minaj. Just as disclaimer, the video is explicit, so if your children are in the room, maybe save it for later. If you are a child, preserve your innocence!

My biggest issue with this song is the repeated phrase “higher than a m***erf***er” (you fill in the blanks, maybe with “higher than any other” like the Glee version), and not only because it’s outrageously inappropriate. Here’s what I want to know: how high are mo-fos usually? And how high does one have to be in order to be higher than them? It’s very ambiguous.

The video is also rather puzzling. The man that jumps in the air surrounded by what I can only assume is yellow chalk dust bears an uncanny resemblance to Barack Obama. Part of me hopes that it’s actually him.

Also, perhaps this is unkind, but she is a terrible dancer. Just awful. She’s not even in time with the beat of her own song. And I understand that, while they were filming this, they probably weren’t actually listening to her song, but could someone not have counted it out for her? Apparently not. And where are they filming this? Because it starts off looking like Tahiti, but then it looks like she’s dancing on the misty hills of Scotland.

I particularly enjoy the psychedelic, glowing part because she looks like a character from Reboot and it brings back precious memories from my childhood in the ’90s.

Am I right or am I right? I’m right.

The other thing about this video is the slow walk out of the water, which I’m pretty sure is meant to be alluring. It brings back thoughts of that Bond movie with Halle Berry, doesn’t it? The part where she emerges from the ocean in her orange bikini. This is not quite the same. But then again, how is Nicki Minaj supposed to compete with Halle Berry? She’s only human (though, I’m fairly certain that her bum is not).

And I will leave you with one final question: have you ever noticed that rappers can pretty much say whatever they want randomly at any point during their songs? She just starts singing “Twinkle Twinkle Litter Star” for no reason at all, other than to fill in the gaps, which I’m pretty sure is what she’s actually doing. So odd.

~ Hilary Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

