London Longing

The latest episode of The Bachelorette and the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee have spurred on a longing for London, England in me. If you haven’t been, let me tell you that London is a wonderful place (re: exorbitantly expensive, rainy, pigeon-infested, and oddly enchanting) full of excellent television and the best subway system ever. I’m serious. I would move to London for Channel 4 and BBC alone. And the subway system is glorious in that it has more than two lines, it’s clean, it’s bright, and each stop is decorated in cool, artistic ways. It also speaks to you in a charming British accent. “Mind the gap!”

In any case, here are a few things that remind me of London and also make me want to go back:

1. Obviously, Hollyoaks. Why would you even question this by this point? If you know me at all, you should know that I have a strange addiction to this show (but not in the creepy “I eat nail polish” kind of way). I have said it before, and I’ll say it again: British soap operas do it right. They still have all the story lines that lead to major drama, such as “oh no, my father is having an affair with my aunt” or “that man is clearly secretly gay” and, of course, the classic love triangles. But they also have story lines like “I’m off to fat camp” and charming, comedic characters that dance hilariously and are generally adorable in most ways. Right now, that character is Dennis Savage. Please enjoy these hilarious excerpts of Dennis dancing on a recent episode of Hollyoaks.


2. Prince William and Kate Middleton. Did you know that Kate Middleton is single-handedly reviving the faltering nylon/hosiery industry? No? My mother did. In any case, that is quite the feat for one person, but if anyone can do it, let’s be honest, that person is Kate Middleton.

Aren’t they just adorable? Yes, they are.

3. I have been listening to The Vaccines lately. They are wonderful and you should also listen to them. Incidentally, they are from London.

4. The Graham Norton show. I would love to watch this show every single day, right after Ellen. Best talk shows ever. Here are some videos for your enjoyment.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

