Benedict…Cuthbucket?

Sherlock Holmes the BBC version came in at the library yesterday, so naturally, I watched two episodes straight away. It’s wonderful and fantastic, but what’s more wonderful and fantastic is how my mother constantly mispronounces Benedict Cumberbatch’s name. I mean, I know it’s unusual (to say the least), but I don’t think it’s a particularly large challenge.

Regardless, my mum comes up with all kinds of hilarious versions of his name. Here are a few:

  • Cumberbund Snatchbucket
  • Jeremy Cumberband
  • Bejamin Cumberbun
  • Bentley Cuthbund
  • Beneflit Cutherbuct
The list goes on and on. And none of it’s right, but quite close and definitely hilarious.
~ Hilary Axle Hatchet
P.S. I should probably warn people to not say these quickly in public, lest you actually end up saying something much, much worse.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Benedict…Cuthbucket?

  1. Gracious – this made me lol on the “subway” (called the LRT here and they laugh (they being all Calgarians) at me when I say subway). Thank you for a wonderful start to my day. So very appreciated.

  2. Jilly says:

    hahaha…Wendy 🙂

  3. wendy says:

    You left out “Cuthbut” and “Cumberbatch”. Honesty…who would name their child Benedict Cumberbatch? Mr. and Mrs. Benedict Cumberbatch Senoir obviously!! I’ll bet he had fun trying to spell his name in kindergarten. Sheesh.

  4. wendy says:

    Okay…it’s early. Ignore all the above spelling errors. Ahem. And I actually got his name right this time but thought it was wrong.

Leave a Reply

