Candid Does Not Work for Me

I look terrible in candid photos. I know what you’re thinking, “Hilary, most people look pretty bad in candid photos. But sometimes there’s a gem in the midst of millions”. And you know what I say to that? NOT TRUE. I look awful in almost all candid photos taken of me. There are no surprisingly gorgeous photos among the many, many greatly unattractive ones. You probably think I’m over-exaggerating. Or maybe you don’t actually think I’m that photogenic or beautiful, in which case I say, “wow, that was a little bit mean. It’s okay, I’ll get over it. Our friendship probably won’t be the same again, but I’ll get over it”.

Here are some examples of what I mean, taken at our good friend Julie’s wedding a couple weekends ago by the various people. It’s not their fault that I clearly need several minutes of preparation for each photo taken of me.

Here’s a picture of our friend Cristina and I, in the same dress (different patterns), attempting to raise our arms above our heads. Largely unsuccessful, clearly.

Here’s the prequel to a very nice photo of us and our brother. It looks a bit like he’s about to smack Julia upside the head. Hilarious.

Just grooving and looking ridiculous.

On the plus side, Julia also looks bad in this photo. Maybe it’s a genetic trait.

This photo is by far the most hilarious. I’m not entirely certain why I’m making that face and why it’s being directed at my lovely soon-to-be-sister-in-law Jess.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Candid Does Not Work for Me

  1. Aoife says:

    I also suck in candid photos. At the very least, we please-dear-god-no-candid-photos people make for more entertaining scrapbooks.. Right? I mean there has to be a plus side for us somewhere.

  2. Hilarious photo. Perhaps it caught you in a moment of truth. Tear.

    I think you look awesome in these. No one can boogie like you and your awesomeness SHOULD be captured! So there.

  3. […] Julia and I, along with Jess, are going to invest several hours of our time in a movie marathon. Automatically, most of you are […]

Leave a Reply

