And so begins Dog Week…

It’s Dog Week. That’s like Shark Week, but with less water, teeth, and, you know, sharks. It’s all about dogs this week. I will share some hilarious dog-related stories with you and we will all laugh and laugh. Okay, you might not laugh, but I probably will, which is just another reason why I don’t need others to validate my self-worth or comedic value: because I can do it myself.

But I digress. To start off Dog Week, I will tell you about what happened to me when I came home from Shoppers last Thursday. I opened the garage door and was in the middle of taking off my sandals when I noticed a small, black dog standing at the bottom of the porch steps leading out to our backyard. I should probably take this particular moment to tell you that, while we do have two dogs, both of them are large golden retrievers. I looked at the dog. The dog looked back at me. I rather think we shared a moment. But then he darted off into our garden, hiding underneath my mother’s new birdbath. And I just went inside.

A couple minutes later, I watched our neighbour try to coax the little dog out of our yard from her adjoining yard. I found it deeply entertaining because the dog essentially ignored her commands in favour of bouncing about our lawn, ocassionally diving into my parents’ well-tended gardens. Oh how I laughed!

And so begins Dog Week.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

