Sorry, Neighbour, Just Trying to Call my Dog

People give their dogs strange names. I know this because, in my lifetime, I have had three dogs, all with very human names. The first was Spencer, the second was Rachel, and Sam was the third with probably the least person-esque name of them all. I discovered that the little black dog who I found darting about my backyard last week is named Logan. Why? That seems odd to me.

I have a friend who is only allowed to have dogs named Tiger and Rover. But you know what? Rover is an appropriate dog name and Tiger has a certain kind of ironic charm about it. Both very acceptable choices.

Why would anyone ever name their dog Rachel? What about a golden retriever puppy makes someone think, “You know what she looks like? She looks like a Rachel”. She doesn’t. She looks like a dog.

What makes the situation worse is that we have a neighbour named Rachel. So every time we let Rachel out, we have to call her back in whispers, afraid that our neighbour will think we’re yelling at her. It’s uncomfortable.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

P.S. On the other hand, the name does seem to suit our particular dog a bit because she’s basically a human. Actually, she’s basically Julia. 

Tagged

One thought on “Sorry, Neighbour, Just Trying to Call my Dog

  1. Shirin says:

    Just read this post! haha!

Leave a Reply

