From ridiculous to delicious

When I moved into my new apartment my parents just sort of moved a whole lot of random food into my place while they were helping me move in furniture, in order to help make groceries less expensive. Thanks guys! A lot of the stuff my dad left for me is great: homemade soup, beer, oven pizza, but then my dad left me this random can of mixed beans. Which is odd. When will I ever really use those? It just seems like such an impractical purchase because the only recipes I could think of to use up this ridiculous bean medley are bean salad (and how much bean salad can one really eat? It doesn’t freeze, it’ll just go bad!) and chili – and my dad had already left me his awesome homemade chili in my freezer.

The problem is, I originally thought this bean medley was a tin of chick peas, their much more versatile cousin, and opened it up, only to be tragically disappointed. So I had to use them up because wasting food is immoral, and, to get off my high horse for a second, not something I can really afford to do. Chili it is!

The point of this bean medley-centered rant, is that making chili is ridiculously easy, apparently. When I lived in TO I had about a five recipe rotation because I was too intimidated to branch out. But honestly following a recipe is like following a map – a lot easier than you think it’s going to be. And so I took the ridiculous bean medley and made delicious chili. Now my freezer is approximately 80% chili. I’m set for the next 18 Superbowls.

~ Julia

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

