Rolling in the Deep

I love Adele just like a lot of people. Ever since I heard “Make you Feel my Love” from 19 I just fell in-completely-love. But I have to wonder, what the heck does “rolling in the deep” mean?

And for that matter, what do a lot of her lyrics mean? For example, the chorus and bridge:

We could have had it all
Rolling in the deep
You had my heart inside your hand
And you played it to the beat

Could have had it all
Rolling in the deep
You had my heart inside your hand
But you played it with a beating

Throw your soul through every open door
Count your blessings to find what you look for
Turn my sorrow into treasured gold
You pay me back in kind and reap just what you sow

What does it mean to throw your soul through open doors? I think that would either be painful or detrimental to one’s chances at after life. The rest of the bridge doesn’t make a whole lot of sense either but it’s the soul-throwing that really gets me.

But mostly I question what rolling in the deep means. And I bet a lot of you are wondering this too because it’s a ridiculously popular song. “We could have had it all/rolling in the deep” … I personally picture dolphins frolicking in deep water with big waves. And then I picture Adele frolicking with those dolphins and then I laugh.

Let me know what you think rolling in the deep means if you have any idea better than mine.

~ Julia

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Rolling in the Deep

  1. wendy says:

    The “deep” used to refer to the ocean so maybe you’re not far off with your dolphin analogy although it doesn’t seem to make much sense in the song. Hmm.

Leave a Reply

