I’ve Given In To The Avant-Garde

I don’t know what it is, maybe just prolonged exposure, but I’ve begun to give in to the avant-garde. Let me be clear, however, that I have not accepted all of it. I still wholly reject the stuff that sounds like I’m about to be murdered by Satan’s tiny, baby army. No Karlheinz Stockhausen for me.

However, I find Philip Glass’s opera, Einstein on the Beach, oddly soothing. I mean, it’s really just a lot of melodic, choral counting with some random anecdotal talking over top of it. And it’s super repetitive. I don’t know why I like it really…there’s just something about it.

This is going to sound weird, and probably really pretentious let’s be real, but when I listen to this, I can see dancing in my mind. Strange yes, but it’s really pretty. You just wish you could see it too.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

P.S. Philip Glass also did the soundtrack to The Illusionist, which is actually quite nice. I recommend a listen. 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “I’ve Given In To The Avant-Garde

  1. tees says:

    welcome to the dark side.

Leave a Reply

