What I’m reading right now: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, by Jenny Lawson

Fans of Sarcasm Soapbox, if you like us, you would love Jenny Lawson. She blogs at The Bloggess  but more importantly she wrote this ridiculously hilarious book Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. Her writing style kind of reminds me of Hilary and I but rather than writing about avant-garde music and how Hilary Duff is a surprisingly adorable mother, she’s written a memoir about growing up with the craziest family I’ve ever heard of. Seriously, insane. Her dad was a taxidermist and there’s a lot of blood and disrespecting dead animals of all sorts. I really enjoy laugh-out-loud-hilarious non-fiction and I really love this stuff.

Like this:

“…it was the first time in my life that I gave myself permission to be me. I was still shy and self-conscious and terrified of people, but Jenkins [a wild turkey her dad captured and forced to be a family pet] had essentially freed me of the bonds of having to try to fit in. It was a lesson I should have been happy to learn at such a young age, if it weren’t for the fact that it was a teaching moment centering on a public turkey attack witnessed by all of the same kids that I would graduate from high school with.

Soon afterward, Jenkins and the other turkeys disappeared from our lives, but the lessons I learned from them still remain: Turkeys make terrible pets, you should never trust your father to identify poultry, and you should accept who you are, flaws and all, because if you try to be someone you aren’t, then eventually some turkey is going to shit all over your well-crafted facade, so you might as well save yourself the effort and enjoy your zombie books. And so I guess, in a way, I owe Jenkins a debt of gratitude, because (even if it was entirely unintentional) he was a brilliant teacher.

And also? Totally delicious.” (Lawson, 45)

If you want to experience happiness, you should read this book.

~ Julia

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What I’m reading right now: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, by Jenny Lawson

  1. […] and I fairly lost my grip and dissolved into tears. I had to then cheer myself up with a little Let’s Pretend This Never Happened and some Christmas […]

Leave a Reply

