Bumper Stickers: What is the point?

Watching an alarming number of David Mitchell Soapbox webisodes has inspired me to do some good old fashioned ranting of my own and really get back to the roots of this blog, which are, of course, incredible sarcastic bitterness. Today, my focus is bumper stickers.

I don’t really understand the point of bumper stickers. I mean, I get the inherent idea behind them, that being the ability to express some incredibly important aspect of your personal identity through a catchy phrase pasted to the back of your hatchback. I understand that. Please note that I also think there is nothing necessarily wrong with doing such a thing (until the point that your intrinsically personal phrase begins to offend other people’s personal beliefs or identities). I just don’t think that bumper stickers are all that necessary.

For instance, last night, as I was driving home from work, I was behind a car whose bumper sticker read “Paramedics save lives.” Yes, factual. Paramedics do in fact save lives. But is that really necessary to adhere to the bumper of your Honda? Is anyone out there really debating whether or not paramedics save lives? Surely there isn’t someone sitting behind you in their own car thinking, “Nah, I don’t think that’s true. Paramedics don’t really save lives.” I really doubt that.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

