The Great Gingerbread House Off of 2012

On Christmas Eve, my family has decided to have a gingerbread house making contest. It was Julia’s idea and a splendid one at that. We’re going to split up into pairs and build our own unique gingerbread houses. Well, not that unique, because the houses come in those kits, but we’re going to buy our own candy to decorate the sucker however we want to. Julia and I are thinking of doing ours in a “Zombie Yuletide” theme. Don’t ask me how we’re going to make zombies out of candy canes, M&Ms, and icing. We’ll figure it out, I’m sure.

In all honesty, I can’t wait to see the houses that the other teams come up with. My mother is paired with our nana, so there’s is bound to be gorgeous and artfully decorated (unlike ours, which will probably be covered in gloopy miniature candy canes that we claim are zombies). Our brother Cam is on a team with his lovely wife Jess. For their part, she will probably do something super creative while Cam not-so-secretly secretly eats the candy when she’s not looking. And the final team is my dad and our uncle Scott. This is the house that I really want to see the most. I have visions of my father attempting to build a multi-story building, complete with drawbridge, while my uncle takes a nap on the couch.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

