Puffy Shirts Are Not Modern

This weekend I was searching for songs that I could use in the recital this year. I came across quite a few gems, let me tell you. Take this hilarious song by Tom Jones for instance:

There are so many things I don’t understand about this video. I have so many questions. For instance, why is he wearing a ruffly shirt? He’s clearly not in a dramatization of Pride and Prejudice nor is he a pirate, so there’s really no need. What are those levers that his back-up dancers are using? Is this supposed to be a futuristic, space age kind of thing? I mean, if it is, they really should’ve taken more time on Tom Jones’ costume because puffy shirts are the last thing I think of when I hear the words “space” and “modern”.

I think perhaps the most important thing to ask ourselves is how those dancers can take themselves seriously. What’s with the knee swivels and the bouncing? These are fully grown adults, people! I know it’s hard for dancers to get jobs, but is that any reason for them to degrade themselves like this? It’s unfortunate because they look like they’re all really quite talented.

Needless to say, I will not be using this song. Maybe if it was 1968. Then I would definitely consider it.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Puffy Shirts Are Not Modern

  1. I personally think he is channeling a toned down Austin Powers

Leave a Reply

