Lactose intolerant lies

Chocolate, vanilla, and peanut butter. SO good.

Chocolate, vanilla, and peanut butter. SO good.

I’m fairly certain the worst thing about being lactose intolerant are all the lies people tell you. “Oh I can’t even tell the difference between rice milk and regular milk!” Here’s a tip for you then: regular milk isn’t gritty. That should really clear it up for you. I became lactose intolerant four years ago, and let me tell you, that was not fun. I LOVE cheese. The problem with becoming lactose intolerant is that you know how amazing dairy is. And so people try and sell you frozen desserts and pretend it’s the same as ice cream and you know, you always know that it’s just not. Soy ice cream tastes distinctly like popsicle sticks and coconut milk ice cream tastes an awful lot like plastic. Chapman’s makes a lactose free ice cream (similarly to how lactose free milk is made, by just adding the lactaze enzyme to the cream) but they’ve also made it fat free and sugar free. What is the point? Anybody can freeze milk.

So, for Christmas I asked for an ice cream maker and I’ve started to just make my own lactose free ice cream. I buy lactose free milk and cream, and then follow the recipes that came with the machine, or find a few on Martha Stewart. While I’d like to say that I’m a master chef, it’s actually ridiculously easy. So easy in fact I have no idea why there aren’t better lactose free desserts on the market. All my lactose intolerant friends! Get yourselves an ice cream machine! You will not regret it.

~ Julia

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Lactose intolerant lies

  1. Ice cream machines = the best! While I’m not lactose intolerant (kudos for not taking no for an answer and making your own ice cream instead by the way!) I have had tons of fun experimenting with all sorts of different kinds. Why spend $10 on a thing of ice cream when you can make your own with whatever you feel like for a fraction of the price!!!

Leave a Reply

