DIY addiction

Rearranged apartment, ALL the paper cranes, and the amazing mug.

Rearranged apartment, ALL the paper cranes, and the amazing mug.

I occasionally become rather obsessed with new things – anything from movies, to actors, to items of clothing – and then become all consumed. I once wore the same sweater dress – I was on holidays mind – for about four days in a row. I just couldn’t seem to take it off, it was too cozy and flattering. A difficult combo to obtain in a sweater dress and one to be celebrated for sure. And those who know me know my love for Tom Hardy knew absolutely no bounds. This weekend I watched Pride and Prejudice (the Keira Knightly Matthew MacFadyen version) three times. It’s an illness.

But my true new addiction is DIY. I know I’m approximately seven years too late for the bandwagon but to be honest until this past weekend the thought of doing things myself when I could just purchase things was not altogether that appealing. And then for some inexplicable reason I got wildly into origami, I rearranged my apartment with the sole intent of making it cuter (I know that this is not DIY necessarily but it took a lot of creative thinking), and I designed my own mugs. I now know the power of DIY. DIY is when you want something completely awesome that you likely can’t purchase because nobody has thought it up yet. Like this mug I made:

20130120-172243.jpgI could probably, somewhere (likely Etsy), find a mug that expresses this sentiment. I’m not the only girl in love with Sherlock. But I probably wouldn’t have been able to find one with this awesome free font I found on dafont.com. So I just made it instead! I also made one quoting The Arkells, “We got deadlines to meet” because really, why the heck not.

Decorating your own mug is ridiculously easy. Just buy a microwave safe mug in whatever colour you wish. I got mine at Walmart because it was terribly cheap, and it’s just plain white, though my Instagram filter makes it look cream. Then, decorate your mug using permanent marker. I free-hand copied a wicked font I found online,  but you could draw a design or use stencils. Bake your mug in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes, and voila! Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

I also made a silly amount of origami paper plans, learning from a youtube tutorial for a future project yet to be completed. Once it is, I’ll show you guys. Next up: hand printed scarves, painted pots for indoor plants, and who knows what else. I’m going to ride this obsession until my apartment is a colourful, kitschy haven.

~ Julia

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “DIY addiction

  1. Jilly says:

    I love how you’re all over this! Have to show you the sweater I re-constructed and my endless card-making obsession. Lots of love, xoxo

Leave a Reply

