Why Valentine’s Day might not be so bad after all

One thing I’ve learned since becoming pretty obsessed with DIY and crafts in general is that Valentine’s Day is REALLY big with the DIY set. At first I was pretty surprised because (correct me if I’m wrong) it seems like  most of the crafty, Michael’s-going people are women, and women for some reason really seem to hate V-day. They either lament that it’s just a commercial driven “holiday” designed to sell chocolates and greeting cards, or that it’s a sham of a holiday designed to make single girls feel bad, or that it’s a completely unnecessary day because you should be able to celebrate your love all year long.  All are valid I guess; I’ve never had very strong feelings towards it – it’s just a day, albeit a day with pink chocolate and increased chances you’ll receive a Dora the Explorer themed card.

But the more I thought about it, the more Valentine’s day really did seem like the ideal DIY holiday (Christmas aside). It’s non-religious so all can participate and it’s all about pink, hearts, and love. It’s essentially the perfect excuse to make adorable things for adorable people.

sewn-valentines-all-11

You’ve got your typical make-your-own cards, courtesy of Design*Sponge

tea-bags

The very creative, make your own tea bags, from abeautifulmess.com

pillows

Super fun His and Hers pillows, also from abeautifulmess.com

heartgarland11

And for the truly crafty, a crochet heart garland, from Design*Sponge. Wow.

I think I’m going to go classic and make my own cards, in the vein of these ones I found on Poppy Talk:

il_570xN.410823751_c2pq

Adorbz.

Whether you love or loathe V-day, making a precious project could be the perfect thing… Hilary better beware: she’s going to be on the receiving end of many a Valentine’s craft.

~ Julia

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Why Valentine’s Day might not be so bad after all

  1. Awesome Valentines Day things. I love that greeting card! 🙂

  2. […] Whether you hate or love it, due to its consumerist nature, Valentine’s Day is everywhere you look. Today I opened the Globe to read this headline: “How to create an effective office romance policy.” Timely!  So, in that vein, I say why not hop on the bandwagon and share the love? I highly recommend making your own cards. […]

Leave a Reply

