Brussels sprouts are just misunderstood

last night I had brussels sprouts for the first time in my whole life. How old are you, you ask? Why, I’ll be 25 in May. Yes, that’s right, it’s taken me a quarter of a century to try brussels sprouts. It’s probably because brussels sprouts are the most villainous vegetable in the world if children’s books, tv, and movies are to be believed, but it’s more likely because my mum just doesn’t like them. In our house, our mum cooked, and if she didn’t like it, we didn’t eat it. We never had fish, and the first time I had asparagus was at a friend’s house and I was 16. I LOVE asparagus. The funny thing about trying a food later in life is that no matter how delicious it always sort of calls to mind some other flavour that you can never quite put your finger on. I think this is why I think mangoes taste like carrots. This, and because they’re gross.

In any case, our friend Emil suggested I try them because she said they’re delicious and holy crap she is not wrong. They’re so good. And so easy! I trimmed them, cut them lengthwise, and boiled them in salty water for 2 minutes. Then I dried them, tossed them in olive oil, salt and pepper, and roasted them for 15 minutes at 450. They were so good! Tender, but kind of caramelized from roasting. Mmm. Because I didn’t want to just eat cruciferous vegetables for dinner (because who does?) I made a bit of penne with a tomato olivey sauce and shaved parmesan all over it.

20130228-120737.jpg

Let me tell you people, if you don’t like brussels sprouts, you’re just not making them right.

~ Julia

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Brussels sprouts are just misunderstood

  1. pillpil says:

    I love Brussels Sprouts!!!

  2. Thank you! I think my first Brussel Sprout experience was around 25 as well – and now they are my favorite green veg, hands down. And I love converting a hater….most people are shocked when they give them a second (first?) chance!

  3. snati001 says:

    Gotta try roasted Brussels sprouts in pasta. Looks good!

Leave a Reply

