Today is a good day: scarf lovin.

This is the best day of my life. I’m wearing the scarf I’ve been coveting for a year, and my oh my, is it a beauty. I’m not going to pretend that this scarf was inexpensive. I’m not going to pretend that I didn’t have to make a promise to myself, with Hilary as my witness, that if I bought this scarf I wouldn’t buy another scarf until fall. I’m not going to pretend that everybody should spend this much money on a scarf. I’m a scarf addict though. I’m different. I needed this scarf.

20130301-084724.jpg

See? Look how happy I am.

I loved the elephant pattern partially because I thought it was whimsical and adorable (and oh so Bollywood), but mostly because elephants symbolize good luck. Our Grandma Toth used to say that you should always have an elephant – whether it be a painting, or a figurine – in your home and that it should face the door. I’ve got a tiny yellow elephant in my apartment, and so this scarf kind of reminds me of her.

20130301-084705.jpg

ALL the elephants! My Instagram filter makes this whole scarf look pinker than it is. It’s really rather orange with hot pink elephants.

Today, I’m wearing it with a black blazer, à la Ewan McGregor, Jude Law, or David Beckham. Yup, my style icons are boys.

20130301-090208.jpg

20130301-084839.jpg

Suited up.

My friend Katie is a Stella & Dot stylist and she sold me this gorgeous, gorgeous scarf. Stella & Dot is like the Tupperware of the jewelry world; people host lovely parties and invite all their girlfriends over, and they all buy lots of really fun things. They’re great. I’m of course going to wear this scarf approximately every other day from now on – cheering up the dull, cold, grey days of March – but I also can’t wait to wear it with a white dress and boyfriend blazer in the spring. It’s the scarf to end all scarves. Today, is a good day.

20130301-084850.jpg~ Julia

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Today is a good day: scarf lovin.

  1. katie says:

    Glad you’re enjoying it! Cute outfit! 🙂

  2. […] know. I know. I said I wouldn’t buy anymore until the fall and then I bought this one for ONLY $12! So that couldn’t have been […]

Leave a Reply

