Holding on

Yesterday I met a man who likes to hug. No, I mean he reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeally likes to hug. As he’s holding me, pressed firmly to his chest, giving me a little back rub, he’s saying things like “hug me like you mean it!” and “I like to hold on for a long time and people feel uncomfortable, but eventually,they start to feel more comfortable.”

That wasn’t actually true, the first hug felt really uncomfortable to me. And I don’t really know how to “mean” my hugs anymore than I already do. Is there some sort special arm positioning that denotes that I “mean” my hugs?

But the truth is, this guy, well he can get away with it. It’s not creepy (as creepy as it may seem) because he hugs everyone. It’s his thing. Men, women, family, friends, the whole lot, can expect a good, long squeeze. It’s alarming when you’re perfect strangers, but there’s something to be said for an earnest, lengthy hug between friends. You know that this guy… this guy, he likes you.

Now not everyone is a hugger. Some people don’t like to be touched. I guess for these people a quick fist bump will suffice. I, myself, am pretty pro-hug, but due to awkwardness rarely initiate hugs. I think I’m afraid my hug will be rejected. But for those of you who don’t mind a good hug every now and then, you’ll know what I’m talking about. There’s a lotta love wrapped up in a hug. I don’t recommend holding on until people feel awkward … but I do recommend dishing out a few cuddles today. Your friends might thank you. They might also shove you away. These are the chances you just have to take.

~ Julia with hugs. Oh ok, and a few kisses. But just for you.
xoxo

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Holding on

Leave a Reply

