Other People Wreak Havoc on My Social Skills

It was like a symphony of sniffles in my lecture this afternoon. I dislike the sound of people sniffing immensely, though not as much as Julia and also not as much as I dislike the sound of whispering. There was a girl sitting in the row directly behind me who sniffled at least once every five minutes for the entire class.

The thing is I carry tissues in my backpack at all times. I have been caught without on occasion and spent the entire day hyper aware of the noises coming from my own nose, totally mortified. That is why I am now over-prepared. I really just wanted to turn around and give the girl a tissue, but I couldn’t decide if she would then be grateful, embarrassed, or offended. It would be mostly an act of generosity, because I know how mortifying it can be, but I won’t lie and say it’s a completely selfless act. I obviously would love it if the annoying noises ceased. On her end, I am slightly concerned that she would then take it as an act of passive aggression. You know, because it kind of is.

Needless to say, I didn’t actually give her a tissue.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

