Get a grip, it’s not even cold outside

I saw a woman wearing two scarves, a hat, gloves, and a parka outside today. It is 13 degrees right now. I was wearing a coat, but got so hot that I wanted to burn it then decided not to because that would just make it hotter.

I feel like people have gotten the wrong idea about Canada, possibly from that one horrendously stereotypical episode of The Bachelor. Despite what people may think, we don’t actually like in igloos or ice castles, largely because we have access to electricity, indoor plumbing, and, you know,  bricks, but also because that would be incredibly impractical considering that it gets to 30 degrees in the summer, at least in Ontario, and the ice castles would melt. We also don’t have animal skin rugs in front of all our fireplaces nor do we use tipis for everyday use. Ridiculous.

I checked the Weather Network. It’s actually -3 in Iqaluit right now. That’s not even that cold! I wouldn’t even be wearing two scarves there right now.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that if I was wearing a parka and a hat in this weather, I would be experiencing extreme heatstroke.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

