When a 70-year-old starts out dancing you in Zumba, you know you have to step it up a notch

I’ve joined a gym because I realized that I’m woefully inactive, and I’m the sort of person who is just not motivated to work out on my own. Obviously, or I would already be doing it. At home yoga DVDs would not work for me, and not only because I have a teeny tiny living room, jogging was obviously invented by Satan, and anybody who works above the fifth floor should just take the elevator (that’s me). So, on the weekend I bought a gym membership and have committed to taking as many classes as possible. There’s a sort of comradery and shame element involved in group work-outs – you can all commiserate at how tough it is, but when a 70-year-old starts out dancing you in Zumba, you know you have to step it up a notch.

Last night I took my first class and it was the single most ridiculous thing I’ve done in a long time. It was called POP Dance, so that should give you some indication. Essentially, it was like Zumba, only hip hop inspired, and needless to say I was just completely downright horrible at it. I also think I pulled a back muscle from all the booty poppin we had to do. It was all worth it though to watch the middle-aged woman next do me bust a move to “Thrift Shop” by Macklemore. I think I’m going to like this gym membership…

~ Julia

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

