Dance Competitions and a Variety of Awfulness

Yesterday was the second Monday in a row that I didn’t post anything. I wish I had a better reason than just being incredibly lazy, but alas, such is life. If I had managed to pull my life together yesterday, I would’ve blogged about the dance competition Julia and I went to on the weekend.

The competition took place in Buffalo and had what I would consider several dumb rules, including, but not limited to, no practicing your routine before going on stage and no cheering before, during, or after any performances. Only polite applause. So Julia and I took to clapping both the loudest and the longest after the dances in the most obnoxious way possible.

But I digress. This particular dance competition has really proven that I can never be a competition judge. I saw a girl in a top hat and coat tails do a tap solo to “Are You Ready For This” by Jock Jams, a song most well-known from the movie Space Jam and various sporting events.

I question everything.

On the plus side, I did get to see a group routine in which three (unfortunate) small girls were unzipped from wheely suitcases. It’s times like that when it most pays to be over 5’5″.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

