I eat like a ten-year-old

Every day I make my lunch and every day I struggle. It’s even worse on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday because I go straight from one job to the other and thus I need to bring both a lunch and a dinner. It’s exhausting. I won’t lie, most of the time I’m just hungry.

Yesterday at lunch, I realized that I had forgotten to pack a spoon with which to eat my yogurt and apple sauce cups respectively. I sucked the apple sauce out of the plastic container, but then decided that I should probably not do the same with the yogurt. Regardless, these are the lengths I will go to in order to eat my lunch because I really don’t have that much room to not eat something.

Let me outline the contents of my lunch today and compare how many of them could be found in the Batman lunchbox of a fifth grader.

  • Granola bar, definitely.
  • Apple sauce cup, yes.
  • Yogurt cup, also yes.
  • A Babybel cheese, 100%.
  • A bran muffin, probably not.
  • Juice box, another yes.
  • Orange slices, yes especially if the fifth grader was at a soccer tournament.

The other part of the problem is that tomorrow’s grocery day at my house, so we’ve basically exhausted all our food options by this point. For dinner on Tuesday, I had salad. The lettuce was wilted. It was wholly dissatisfying.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I eat like a ten-year-old

  1. wendy toth says:

    Sorry Sweetie
    Mum

Leave a Reply

