Ah, Back Pain

Last Thursday, I noticed that I had a bit of back pain. It was nothing too awful and I thought I was fine until I went to my jazz class later that night. All was well as we went over the dance, but it quickly went to hell in a hand basket.

In our dance, we have to do a turn into a jump, land on the ground, roll, and stand up. It’s normally not so bad, but the first time I tried to do it n Thursday, I turned, jumped, rolled, and then kept rolling until I hit the mirror at the front of the room.

Here’s the thing, though: I like to be ridiculously dramatic whenever possible. And so, when I careened into the mirror at the dance studio, I lay on the ground and said things like “My back! My back!” and “I’ll never walk again” and, perhaps most dramatically, “Just leave me here to die”. Naturally, the other women in the class were slightly concerned. Julia, on the other hand, who knows me and my tendency toward the ridiculous, was left saying things like “she’s fine, she’ll walk again, don’t worry about it, she’s not paralyzed”. All of these things were 100% true, but the other women were then shocked at her apparent insensitivity.

All in all, it was unfortunate. But what’s more unfortunate is that, when I got home later that night, I sneezed and I think that might’ve been the most pain I’ve ever been in since my life began twenty-one years ago. In a word, excruciating.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

P.S. Glenda, sorry this is so late in the day. Tomorrow I’ll post at 7am sharp.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Ah, Back Pain

  1. Glenda says:

    Thanks Hilary! I was wondering when your post would show up! However, given the misery you’re in, I will excuse your tardiness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

