Killing Me Softly

As I drive to work in the morning, I have to listen to the radio because there is no other music option in my car. I suppose I don’t technically have to. I could choose to sit in complete silence, but that seems possibly even more awful. And I have noticed that the world is filled with way too many soft-rock, easy-listening pop radio stations. There is not a day that goes by that I do not hear the song “All I Wanna Do” by Sheryl Crow.

This is a terrible song and I hate it. If you asked me to name another Sheryl Crow song, I would be completely unable. This is the only one I know and it fills me with bitter hatred. I actually don’t even know much of this song except that one line when she says “All I wanna do is have some fun”. That is the only part of the song I will remember after hearing it, but I will remember it for ages. It’s just one line in a loop in me head.

Surprisingly, I also hear at least one Shania Twain song per day. It seems especially culturally irrelevant to me, but that’s fine. It’s not the worst crap out there. I mean, Shania Twain’s a national treasure (not really anymore, but I’d take her over Avril Lavigne any day).

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

