Bramble Jam

Yesterday my parents bought me a little present. It may have been for the dance recital, but I’m not sure. It is incredibly inventive to buy someone tiramisu and jam instead of flowers, I’ll say that much. In any case, the tiramisu was delicious and so is the jam. What kind of jam is it, you ask? Well, I’ll tell you. It’s bramble jam. Yes, that’s right, bramble jam.

Now you may be thinking, “what the heck is bramble jam?” I won’t lie, I too am also thinking that.  I mean, there’s also a chance that you know what bramble jam is, in which case I guess I would have to say that you are clearly living a less sheltered life than myself. Never once have I ever seen bramble jam before. Apparently it’s from Scotland, or at least so the jar tells me.

So I Googled it. Obviously. The first thing that populates when you type the words “bramble jam” into Google is some sort of music fest in the states, at which Algernon Cadwallader, The Front Bottoms, The Anarchist Pizza Society, and The World Is A Beautiful Place And I Am No Longer Afraid To Die are playing, amongst other slightly less ridiculously named bands.

There were also a multitude of recipes for bramble jam, including one called Angela’s “flexible” jam recipe recipe. The quotations make me weary of whether or not Angela’s jam recipe recipe is actually that flexible. I’m suspicious. I don’t think it really is.

In any case, I then looked up just “bramble” because the jam was really skewing the search results. Apparently a bramble is a kind of shrub and bramble jam is undoubtedly made from blackberries, which is far less exciting than I was expecting it to be. On the plus side, at least bramble jam is not just pureed shrub.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

P.S. Here’s a sample of The Front Bottoms. It’s not what I was expecting, but I can’t actually tell you what I thought it would be. 

P.P.S. Also, The World Is A Beautiful Place And I Am No Longer Afraid To Die (or TWIABPAIANLATD for the longest acronym ever) has a song called Mega Steve. That can only be good (it’s not). 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

