Uncomfortable Concerts

On Saturday, Julia and I went to St. Catharine’s with our friend Elizabeth to see Mother Mother. It was, as always, a fabulous concert, save for the fact that it was incredibly warm. Whenever I’m in a hot situation like that and I think it’s the hottest I’ve ever been in my life, I think back to Hillside (a music festival) 2011 because that was for sure actually the hottest I’ve ever been in my life. I never knew it was possible for my forearms to bead sweat like that, but it is. Or I like to think of the time I went to see the Blue Jays on the hottest day of life and sat so high up in the nosebleeds that we were actually closer to the people doing the Skywalk on the CN Tower than the ground. When we stood up after the game, everyone had sweat marks on the seat of the shorts, which is gnarly, but not as embarrassing because it happened to everyone.

But I digress. The opening band for Mother Mother was The Beaches, a four-piece, all girl rock band from the Beaches in Toronto, perhaps not all that surprisingly. They were pretty kick ass and so young. One of them was only sixteen and the oldest was eighteen. They can’t even drink legally and they’re already touring the country with their rock band. They make me feel very under-accomplished.

The opening band before The Beaches even came on were a bit painful. They were not bad musically, though perhaps not my particular taste. On the other hand, I’ve never experienced so much second-hand embarrassment at a concert before. The first song was alright, but the second song was slow and utterly painful. It killed any hype they may have created with the first song. And then the lead singer essentially begged the crowd to have fun, which is incredibly awkward, especially since they have the power to make it fun at THEIR OWN CONCERT. Uncomfortable.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

