How is this useful?

I’m only a little bit embarrassed to admit that I’ve been listening to the Backstreet Boys’ greatest hits album basically non-stop for the past two days. First it was Aladdin, now it’s Backstreet Boys. So much 90s!

How is it that I can remember every single line of this song, but not what the main plot of Middlemarch was? Oh yeah, it’s because that monstrosity was 900 pages long and I didn’t really read it fully (WHO HAS THE TIME FOR THAT?!). Regardless, my point still stands. I studied that book only last semester at school. That was only about five months ago, yet I can remember very little of what I learned throughout the whole course, save for the fact that Victorians were a spectacularly intolerant folk and that I greatly dislike Charles Dickens. And yet I can remember all the words to this Backstreet Boy song that I liked to listen to on occasion in 1999. Surely that space in my memory could be used for far more important things?

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I want to use the space in my memory that holds Backstreet Boys songs to remember the plot progression of books written during the time human poop was being thrown into bodies of water which were communally used for things like drinking and bathing (“E.coli again? Awesome!”), but I could maybe use that space to remember important things, like investment banking. How useful would that be?

Well I don’t know because I can’t remember.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

P.S. I’m not entirely certain I understand the concept of this music video. In what way do the lyrics have anything to do with Halloween?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “How is this useful?

  1. May help that all if the lyrics in their songs are on heavy repeat? This from a girl who can also remember every. Single. Song. I am glad I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

