In Slight Defense of Miley Cyrus

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, what is the big deal with people hating on Miley Cyrus? There are probably a lot of things out there floating about on the internet that I have not seen and probably won’t. I have not done that much research and I’m sure it doesn’t really matter unless she’s killed someone which seems very unlikely; I definitely would’ve heard about that, I don’t live under a rock.

But from what I have heard, people seem to object mostly to the fact that she’s stopped wearing pants a lot of the time, even in public. Okay, yes, I get that. I’ve also heard people say that she’s tweeted some dumb things. Right, okay, sure.

But here’s the thing: she’s twenty years old. And let’s face it, she’s not Lindsay Lohan twenty either. She’s essentially a normal person twenty. I hate to break it to the world, but this is kind of what a lot of twenty-year-olds do. They post things on their twitter accounts like “Just ate a tub of ice cream #yolo” or “tbh you have the biggest butt and you’re stupid”. Yes, these things are perhaps not the most productive thoughts in the world and they don’t necessarily need to be shared with the whole world, but then again neither do a lot of things.

And then there’s the pants thing. I’ll be the first to admit that if I came face-to-face with a pant-less person in real life I would be very uncomfortable and I certainly wouldn’t choose the pant-less lifestyle for myself, but at the same time we all have that one friend that gets a little too naked when they’re a little too drunk. Think about it…you know exactly which friend it is, too. I mean, I’m really hoping that Miley Cyrus isn’t drunk every time she doesn’t wear pants, because that would mean that she spends way too much time being day-drunk, but maybe she’s just the naked friend of her friend group. And what would life be like without them? Certainly less interesting (probably a little more socially comfortable, but that’s neither here nor there).

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “In Slight Defense of Miley Cyrus

  1. […] P.S. I would also like to point out that I was totally right, she really is the naked friend. […]

Leave a Reply

