Let’s Talk About…Downton Abbey

I’ve recently been lent the first two seasons of Downton Abbey. I had been told by numerous people that I needed to watch it because it was “soooo good”. So I’ve finally bitten the bullet. Julia and I watched the first four episodes yesterday afternoon. Now let’s talk about it.

Hilary:  I won’t lie, I’ve seen another 3 episodes since I last saw you…it’s very addictive.

Julia: Good lord. It is addicting, I want to know what happens, but at the same time it’s so soap opera-ish. Does it continue to be a soap?

Hilary: Oh, very much so. But I don’t mind soap operas; I watch Hollyoaks. Well, not as much anymore, but I also used to watch Passions. So there’s that. Some of the characters are becoming slightly better. I don’t mind Mary nearly as much as I did before, but she’s still not my favourite and she’s also still very cruel to poor Edith. On the other hand, Edith is terribly cruel to Mary.

Julia: I really, really like the upstairs/downstairs concept of Downton because I think it provides a more interesting story line. Other period pieces (like Austen movies) are great, but they only show the upper class. It’s cool to be able to see the servants as well. But I just can’t really get over the soap opera quality of the show. I did hear though that you do start to hate Mary less and I adore Anna and Bates – they’re my fave characters

Hilary: I really, really like Mrs. Hughes. And William, the second foot-man is quite cute. I think I sense a bit of a budding romance between Mrs. Hughes and Mr. Carson, which is all kinds of adorable. I find it really precious when older, British people find love together. Like The Exotic Marigold Hotel. Ooh,  also, Maggie Smith is very entertaining. “What’s a weekend?” Apparently you can buy t-shirts that have her sayings and expressions on them.

Julia: Yes, I love Mrs. Hughs and Mr. Carson. They’re just stand up people all ‘round. I also find it adorable when older British people find love together. I don’t even know how I feel about other older people finding love (do I feel the same way when it’s Australians or South Africans?) which is weird. But there you have it, the English are clearly the best.

Also, in related topics, please enjoy these Downton Abbey memes:

downton

images

l_41949530-d7b3-11e1-b0d8-598580d00007

tumblr_lbndlgJK0d1qzvjn8o1_r1_500

m227002437

And if you’re interested, a video on David Mitchell’s thoughts on Downton Abbey.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Let’s Talk About…Downton Abbey

  1. tkmorin says:

    I miss it … 🙂

Leave a Reply

