I really want to send this package, but I can’t because I have a job

I’ve been getting ready to move in a week, packing and such. I’ve also been just generally getting my life in order. Throwing away crap I didn’t know I had and still don’t know why I had. I guess this is why people have garage sales; to unload all of their unwanted crap on unsuspecting, naive strangers who will willingly pay too much money for a used dollar store notebook and a sieve from 1976.

But I digress. Part of what this entails is getting my licence renewed. But it’s really hard to find a time to do it! It’s the same with sending mail. Post offices and whatever places you go to in order to get your licence renewed (as well as passports and the like) are open primarily during regular work hours. Surely they should be open after work hours so that all those people who, you know, work during the day, which is a significant portion of the population, can actually send birthday presents to their grandmothers and get their licences renewed without having to take a personal day.

Honestly, though, how does that make sense? Hair salons have built their entire practices on the understanding that most people can’t get their hair coloured or their bangs trimmed at 2:15 on a Tuesday afternoon because people are at work. If hair salons can do it, surely other businesses can as well. So let’s all take a page from the hairstylists of the world and start doing things that make sense.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “I really want to send this package, but I can’t because I have a job

  1. Cheryl Rickers says:

    Where r u moving to??????

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

