In Lesser Defense of Miley Cyrus

As Julia said, we still don’t have internet at our apartment. Who knows when we will? It’s horrible, let me assure you. On the other hand, our mother is probably pleased that she gets to see us so often now that we’ve started coming over to our parents’ house to use their internet. Or perhaps she’s not pleased at all and just wants us to get the heck out already! I don’t blame her; I tend to get the dog all riled up. In my defense, it’s not hard to do.

But I digress. So many things have happened since we took our brief hiatus. More specifically, two equally as horrific Miley Cyrus-related things happened since we took our brief hiatus. One was her VMA performance, during which she wore uncomfortable (in more ways than one) nude underpants and twerked on Robin Thicke. Interestingly, what I found most unfortunate about that whole incident was that Robin Thicke had stolen the exact suit from Beetlejuice.

Uncanny.

Uncanny.

The second Miley Cyrus-related thing that has occurred is this video for her new song, “Wrecking Ball”:

This has caused quite the media buzz and it’s easy to see why. She’s very naked for a lot of video, which is not necessarily a terrible thing. Just ask a nudist. But sitting naked on a wrecking ball also isn’t a spectacularly good thing either, is it? How do you know where that wrecking ball’s been? Also, I just think swinging about in the nude on something metal would probably be chilly.

I get that Miley Cyrus is probably trying to shake off her innocent, childish persona (a.k.a. Hannah Montana) by being all grown up and “artsy”, but I’m not sure it’s having the effect she was hoping for. I’m also not sure she’s going about it the right way. Licking a sledgehammer is not really that artistic. It does not make me think, “You know what, she’s not that immature, generic pop star anymore. She’s truly a musical prodigy”. It instead makes me think, “Ugh, tetanus”.

And judging by this video, I would say I’m not the only one who feels this way.

“Nailed it!”

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

P.S. I would also like to point out that I was totally right, she really is the naked friend.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

