What I’ve Been Listening To

This has been an excellent two weeks music-wise for me. ALL the good things came out and I’m really excited about all of it. Seriously, I dance in my car on the way to work every morning now that I a) don’t have to listen to the radio, and b) I get to listen to magical, magical things.

Warning: this is going to be lengthy.

The Arctic Monkeys, AM

This new album from the Arctic Monkeys is…how do I put this without sounding really uncool? It’s kind of groovy. There’s a lot of bass and Alex Turner’s accent is the best thing in the world. It really just makes me want to say things like “summat” instead of “something”, but I’m not from Sheffield so I don’t think I can get away with that.

Franz Ferdinand, Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Actions

Franz Ferdinand is back with a new album as well, which is also quite good. I have to be in the mood to listen to Franz Ferdinand, though, and their best album is 100% You Could Have It So Much Better.

Chvrches, The Bones of What You Believe

Chvrches, after putting out an EP earlier this year, has put out a full length album. It’s pretty great. Some nice, Scottish, indie electro-pop.

The Jungle Giants, Learn to Exist

Glorious. Absolutely glorious. I love it. I love it so much. The Jungle Giants are wonderful and I want them to come tour in Canada because I would go in a heartbeat.

Agnes Obel, Aventine

I had just previously begun listening to some of her other stuff and now I have this new album as well. It’s lovely and peaceful, but in a really eerie, kind of melancholy way. She’s quite haunting, but also rather soothing. And she’s from Denmark! How exciting.

Bronze Radio Return, Up, On & Over

Julia originally got me into Broze Radio Return. Dude has a very distinctive voice. I like them. They’re upbeat and they keep getting better with every album.

Lorde, Pure Heroine

This album is AWESOME. I’m digging it. And she makes me feel very under-accomplished. Sixteen and she’s already put out an album. And it’s not like Disney pop either. This is cool music. I wish I had been this cool at sixteen. Instead, I was wearing polo shirts (leave me alone, they were big back in the day) and taking Latin class.

One Direction, “Best Song Ever”

 I thought I would just sneak this in here. What’s not to love? “And we danced all night to the best song ever!” Adorable and upbeat. And the music video is pretty special. As are the dance moves. Classic jazz squares, people. Who doesn’t love a good jazz square? I did see a CD at HMV the other day (when we were purchasing all this gloriousness) and it appeared to be literally a four-track CD of this one song. Who would buy that? I actually know that a lot of people would buy that, but I just don’t see the point.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

