It’s Time For Another Radio Rant

I recently bought my very first car. It’s from 1997 and it used to belong to a 97 year old man, but it’s new to me. My manager Febreezed the hell out of it for me and now it smells like an elderly man in a citrus grove. Very nice.

In any case, my favourite thing about the car is by far that the tape deck works and thus I can listen to my iPod via tape transmitter. It’s wonderful because now I no longer have to listen to the radio. Ugh, the radio.

This is probably going to make me sound like a snob, and I recognize that, which may or may not be better. It might actually be kind of worse, but I’m okay with it. The radio infuriates me. I don’t know what it is about people that makes them want to listen to the same twenty songs on repeat for hours and hours in a day. Maybe it’s because these people don’t actually listen to the radio for that long of a time, so the novelty never wears off. But I have to listen to the radio all day at work and, let me assure you, there are simply only so many times you can hear a Hedley song before you begin to seriously contemplate hurling the entire radio out of an office window.

And it’s not that I hate Top 40 or popular music. At least not all of it. I will be the first person to admit that I really like One Direction songs and I was quite fond of “Roar” by Katy Perry, which is particularly surprising because I usually really don’t like her stuff. Lady Gaga is delightful and even Drake is growing on me (he seems like a pretty cool dude). But when you’re forced to listen to the same song several times a day, several days a week for an entire summer, you grow tired of it. And then you reach the point where you think you’ll never be able to hear that song again without wanting to tear your own hair out of your head. And this can happen to any song. It took me several months before I could listen to Adele again and I love Adele.

This is why I think the radio needs to branch out just a bit. There seem to be an awful lot of radio stations that play Top 40, which is fine, but it doesn’t add a whole lot of variety, especially since you can turn on the radio and, at any given time, listen to the same song on three different stations, just perhaps at different parts throughout it. So I say, instead of playing Miley Cyrus on every single radio station at one time (instead of the Edge, which is probably playing Cage the Elephant or Queens of the Stoneage, let’s be real), why don’t we play Miley on one radio, Katy Perry on another, and maybe a little bit of Alt-j on the third? How delightful would that be? Pretty darn delightful.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “It’s Time For Another Radio Rant

  1. Don’t hate me, but I love the radio! But I don’t listen to it for long periods of time, and I totally agree with you. Here, Maroon 5 and Fun are in constant rotation. Because of that, I don’t hate the radio, I hate Maroon 5 and Fun:)

  2. Oh, I don’t completely hate the radio. Hate is perhaps not the right word. It exhausts me, though.

Leave a Reply

