R. Kelly and Lady Gaga: The Weirdest Pairing Since Pickles and Peanut Butter

Lady Gaga’s new song is called “Do What U Want” and it features R. Kelly. If you want to check it out, there’s an audio of it in this Buzzfeed article.

I have a few questions about this and most of them revolve around R. Kelly. Why R. Kelly? I just think she could’ve done a song with anyone. She’s Lady Gaga. Why did she choose R. Kelly? I like Trapped in the Closet as much as the next guy, which is to say not really all that much. That was a very long…R&B opera? What was that exactly? There are chapters. Maybe it was a lyrical narrative. A song-novel. A sonovel. I won’t lie, I haven’t listened to or watched all of the sonovel, but I think one chapter was probably enough.

In any case, the discovery of this new song lead me to watching the music video for “Applause”. Part of me can’t believe I hadn’t seen it before this point. Part of me is currently wondering what exactly it was that I just saw.

She’s certainly unique. And definitely taped into the hand bra. Maybe this is why she and R, Kelly have done this song together. Both of them are trailblazers in their own ways. I’m not sure that the trails R. Kelly has blazed really needed to be blazed, but there you have it. At one point, he was very uplifting.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

