And this is why I can’t have nice things

On the weekend I managed to break my laptop with my phone. Technology is turning against me! But seriously, in a shocking lack of dexterity I dropped my iPhone onto my open laptop, cracking the laptop screen. It looks like a wavy television test pattern and makes it really hard to watch Chuck online.

As it would turn out, fixing a laptop screen is infinitely easier and less expensive than replacing the screen on your smartphone, which is the best news to come out of this ridiculous debacle. But at the same time, it’s sort of the worst news too. Shelling out $150 to fix a laptop really isn’t that terrible, but my laptop runs Windows 8 which I’m fairly certain is Satan’s preferred operating system. This thing was developed in hell and I hate it accordingly. So now I have to pay money in order to fix my mortal arch enemy. It makes me a bit sad inside. If they had told me it would cost several hundred dollars to fix my laptop I would have sold it for parts and just lived like a pilgrim.

Alas, now the only thing left for me to do is fix the thing, find someone to put Windows 7 on it, and continue my love affair with Chuck. In the meantime, I expect I’ll be reading a lot. No technology required.

~ Julia Maurice Sabre-Ocean

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

