Movie Marathon Extravaganza

Tomorrow, Julia and I, along with Jess, are going to invest several hours of our time in a movie marathon. Automatically, most of you are thinking “which movie series are you going to watch?” Well, some of you probably are. In all honesty, most of you are probably thinking, “I don’t really care”. But that’s fine, I don’t need you anyway!

But I digress. We’re not actually going to watch one series. It won’t be sixteen solid hours of The Lord of the Rings extended edition box set. We also won’t be watching all eight Harry Potter movies, which, frankly, would probably take less time. Besides, everyone knows that you never watch the first Harry Potter movie, even in marathons. Daniel Radcliffe only has two expressions in that movie: shock and a face that suggests he is totally devoid of any human emotion. And Emma Watson’s eyebrow waggling is out of control in the first movie. Don’t get me wrong, it’s out of control in most of them, but super out of control in the first one. And we also won’t be watching all three Back to the Future films.

Instead, we are going to start off our movie day with War Horse, at which point, we will probably all weep uncontrollably. I don’t cry very often because I have what some might call a heart of stone. I did cry during 50/50 (I’m not that heartless) and I have been known to shed a few tears at select Disney movies, the list of which is as follows:

  • The Lion King 
  • Lilo and Stitch
  • Monsters Inc.
  • Up (because holy flying crap weasels)

Then we will recuperate with This Means War, which we have actually already seen. If you’d like to know how it was, please feel free to consult Julia’s wonderful review of it here, in which she manages to be somewhat unbiased by her incredible love for Tom Hardy. Seriously, he’s a babe.

To top it all off, we will then watch Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows. I think we’ve really got something good here. We basically have all the movie genres in three movies. War Horse gives us the inspiring, action, animal movie, kind of family movie experience with a side of astounding sadness. This Means War is a romantic comedy with a little bit of action. And Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is like a period piece with even more action, some mystery, and comedy. All we’re missing is horror, and I’m okay with that.

~ Hilary Lyon Axle Hatchet

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Movie Marathon Extravaganza

  1. […] Hilary mentioned, on the weekend we watched War Horse with our soon to be sister-in-law Jess. I knew that the film […]

  2. […] Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone. Like I said, the eyebrow waggling is out of control and it was filmed in the period of time before Daniel […]

Leave a comment